We've since clapped eyes (and in some cases hands) on fresh-faced 2021 flagship phones from the makers in question, the like Xiaomi Mi 11 and Samsung Galaxy S21, S21+ and S21 Ultra, but we're yet to experience Realme's new top dog - the Realme GT.

If you're keen to watch the event, Realme has scheduled the GT's global launch stream for today – Tuesday, 15 June at 13:00 BST (that's 14:00 CEST or 17:30 IST). We've embedded the English-language YouTube stream at the top of this article for your convenience.

As for the phone itself, we're already clued in on the spec sheet it's bringing to the table; with a Snapdragon 888 at its heart, at least 8GB of LPDDR5 RAM, 128GB of fast UFS 3.1 storage, 5G, WiFi 6E, a 64Mp primary camera, 65W fast charging and a 120Hz AMOLED display.

Leaked European pricing of €549 (approximately £475/US$670/INR₹48,780), for the higher-capacity 12GB RAM build, spells good things for the more modest SKUs too.

The phone comes in three finishes at launch: glass-backed silver and dark blue variants, as well as a 'Racing Yellow' model, which features a vegan leather back in yellow with a black stripe running down from the camera module.

Following the phone's original Chinese launch, the GT reportedly received over a million reservations ahead of its initial 10 March release, so it'll be interesting to see if the company can replicate the same amount of interest several months later in these new international markets.

Related stories for further reading