E3 has traditionally been the big game show of the year, packed with the biggest game announcements, gameplay videos and, in recent years, hands-on sessions for the public, but the pandemic forced the ESA’s hands in 2020 and 2021, pivoting to an online-only event with limited success.

While gamers all expected much the same this year, whispers began to circulate suggesting that E3 2022 may be cancelled altogether. That news was confirmed in late March by peripheral makers and finally, the organisers who confirmed that there would be no show – digital or otherwise – in 2022.

We outline all you need to know right here, including the alternative gaming shows and livestreams aiming to fill the void left by E3 in June.

E3 2022 cancelled by the ESA

Rather than a third attempt at a digital-only gaming show, organisers ESA has confirmed that E3 2022 will not take place this June as expected.

In a statement provided to IGN, the organisers explain that all energy is being put into a bigger and better E3 2023.

"We will devote all energy to making a revitalised physical and digital E3 happen next summer. Whether you enjoy it on the show floor or from your favourite digital devices, Showcase 2023 will bring the community, media and industry together again – in a completely new format and as an interactive experience".

The new E3 2023 format seems to be a hybrid, combining in-person and online elements into one cohesive experience. It’s an interesting idea, but we’ll likely be waiting for some time before we get any concrete details on what that’ll look like.

Interestingly, IGN sources claim that "discussions about a digital equivalent [to E3 2022] were ongoing, but lost momentum".

E3 2022 alternatives

While the cancellation of E3 2022 is disappointing for long-time fans of the show, the good news is that several alternative shows are set to go ahead around the same time.

It's set to kick off with a bang, with the Summer Game Fest 2022 scheduled to begin on 9 June 2022 at 11am PDT/2pm EDT/7pm BST.

While specifics of the show are yet to be confirmed, Geoff Keighley has teased game announcements, reveals and Day of the Devs. 

The Future Games Show follows on 11 June 2022 at 12pm PDT/ 3pm EDT/8pm BST, focusing on PC, PlayStation, Xbox, Nintendo Switch and Mobile, promising "all-new trailers and exclusives from the most exciting games of 2022 and beyond". It'll be available to stream via the likes of Twitch and YouTube

Next, there's the Xbox and Bethesda Games Showcase, which Microsoft has confirmed will take place on 12 June 2022 at 10am PDT/1pm EDT/6pm BST. The company teased "amazing titles coming from Xbox Game Studios, Bethesda, and our partners around the world,", covering games coming to Xbox and PC as well as releases for Game Pass.

We cover how to watch the Xbox and Bethesda Games Showcase separately if you want to tune in. 

PC Gaming Show, which has run alongside E3 since 2015, is also making a return in 2022. 

As with previous years, the organisers tease "never-seen-before gameplay footage" alongside conversations with developers and "announcements from across the world of PC gaming".

The PC Gaming Show kicks off just after the Xbox and Bethesda Games Showcase, starting at 12:30pm PDT/3:30pm EDT/8:30pm BST on 12 June

We’ll update this section as more publishers announce alternative E3 2022 plans, so head back frequently for the latest news.

Related content you might like