CES 2022 takes place this week, with in-person attendance back on the cards for the first time in two years. But while many people will be heading out to Las Vegas, plenty more will be following the news virtually, especially with the new Omicron variant of COVID-19 spreading rapidly.

With most major companies live streaming their events around the world, it's easy to keep up with everything that's happening. Among them is Intel, with big news expected from the US chip maker today. Here's how to watch its press conference live, wherever you are in the world.

When is the Intel CES 2022 event?

Intel has confirmed its main CES event will take place today, 4 January 2022. Proceedings get underway at 10am PT - that's 1pm ET, 6pm GMT or 7pm CET.

How to watch Intel's CES 2022 live stream

As usual, Intel's event will be live streamed from the Mandalay Bay hotel in Las Vegas. 

It will be available to watch from the Intel Newsroom, while it's also worth keeping an eye on the Intel YouTube page after the livestream is over for a summary of the key announcements. We'll update this article with a link to the specific page once it's available.

What to expect from Intel at CES 2022

Intel is focusing on two key areas at CES 2022 - automated driving and personal computing. Announcements on the latter will be led by Gregory Bryant, executive VP and general manager of Intel’s Client Computing Group.

The company hasn't revealed what will be on the agenda at the event, but we already have a pretty good idea. Intel officially revealed its first Alder Lake desktop chips in October, although only six new CPUs are currently available. Expect plenty more options to be added to the lineup, with a new high-end P Series expected.

However, arguably the more exciting announcement is the first lineup of Alder Lake laptop CPUs. These won't be available to buy as standalone components, but rather be integrated into many of the leading laptops in 2022. If the latest generation of any Windows device currently uses Tiger Lake CPUs, expect an Alder Lake version this year.

We already know that Alder Lake shifts to the new big.LITTLE architecture, comprising of both performance and power efficiency cores. If Intel is able to improve devices' ability to handle complex workloads and improve battery life, it could be on to a winner. We probably won't be waiting long for the first Alder Lake-powered laptops to be announced, potentially also at CES 2022.

Elsewhere, we're also expecting to hear more about Intel Arc, the company's new graphics technology brand. The very first GPUs in the range may also be announced.

Another potential announcement is an update to to Intel Evo Platform, presumably to now require Alder Lake CPUs rather than Tiger Lake. There's also a chance new criteria may also be added, making it even harder for a laptop to be eligible.