AMD has been on a roll in recent years. Since the launch of the first Ryzen processors in 2017, the company has emerged as Intel’s main rival in the CPU world. It’s a similar story when it comes to GPUs, with AMD’s Radeon RX graphics cards going toe-to-toe with Nvidia’s GeForce RTX range.

With that in mind, it should come as no surprise to learn that AMD has already been very active in 2021. Ryzen 5000 laptop processors debuted at the all-digital CES in January, before the company held its own virtual event to launch the RX 6700 XT GPU in March.

AMD’s next official appearance comes at Computex 2021, the latest event forced to embrace an online-only format. After last year’s event was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, it will be interesting to see what AMD has in store this time around. Here’s everything you need to know.

What time is AMD’s Computex 2021 keynote?

AMD has confirmed that its Computex 2021 keynote will take place on 1 June, the second day of the event. More specifically, that’s 10am local time in Taiwan. Here’s how that translates around the world:

  • 7pm PDT on 31 May
  • 10pm EDT on 31 May
  • 3am BST on 1 June
  • 4am CEST on 1 June

That means you’ll have to stay up late (or wake up early) if you’d like to watch the keynote live from the UK or east coast of the US. As usual, the keynote will be available to watch back shortly after the live stream ends - it's expected to last around an hour.

How to watch the AMD Computex 2021 keynote

Computex events are livestreamed around the world even with an in-person audience, so there was no question that the AMD event would be freely available to watch online.

The most common place to via the official Computex YouTube channel. We've embedded the official stream at the top of this page, making it easy to start watching.

If you’d prefer, the stream will also be available to watch via the Computex website.

What to expect from AMD at Computex 2021

The official title for the event is ‘AMD Accelerating – The High-Performance Computing Ecosystem’. That doesn’t give much away, although the stream’s YouTube description mentions ‘building great products’.

There’s a chance that the keynote will be focused on software and long-term plans, but we’re holding out for new hardware announcements. At Computex 2019, AMD announced both the Zen 2 architecture and Ryzen 3000 Series CPUs that were the first to use it.

It’s highly unlikely AMD will unveil Zen 4 already, although Ryzen 6000 desktop chips are possible. Don’t expect any new laptop processors, though – the company will likely wait until CES 2022 to announce those.

On the GPU side, a new RX 6600 XT is widely expected to be announced. Rumours suggest it’ll have 8GB of GDDR6 memory, as well as a boost clock speed of 2,684MHz and power consumption of around 130W.

It remains to be seen whether this new graphics card will boost AMD’s chances of overcoming Nvidia. The latter is expected to launch the new RTX 3080 Ti at its own Computex event – details of which can be found here.