Just like Nintendo Directs or Inside Xbox, the PlayStation State of Play and Showcase videos give key updates for Sony fans, with new game reveals, details and more, so they’re essential viewing for anyone who wants to keep up with what’s coming next for PlayStation.

They’re easy to miss if you’re not paying attention though - so here’s when the next update takes place, what it’s about, and how to watch along live. You can also take a look at our picks of the best upcoming games for 2021, and how to watch Square Enix Presents

When is the PlayStation Showcase?

The PlayStation Showcase takes place tonight, Thursday 9 September at the following times:

  • 9pm BST (UK time)
  • 1pm PT (West Coast US time)
  • 4pm ET (East Coast US time)
  • 10pm CET (Central Europe time)

Sony has said that that the segment will last for around 40 minutes in total. 

How to watch the PlayStation Showcase

When the stream starts you'll be able to watch on the PlayStation YouTube and Twitch channels. You can tune in directly from this page by watching the video at the top of the page. 

What to expect from the next PlayStation Showcase

The stream will focus on updates from PlayStation studios and for games releasing this Holiday season. But perhaps more interestingly, there will be an update about the future of the PS5. 

This is likely the announcement of a software update, which has been in beta testing. If rolled out, this would add M.2 SSD support, 3D audio support for speakers built into TVs and some changes to the dashboard. 

Other suspected announcements include trailers for the likes of Horizon Forbidden West, Deathloop and maybe even Hogwarts Legacy. 

One thing there won't be is any updates for is the new PSVR headset, which has already been detailed at a developer summit. If we're lucky though, we could get some other hardware announcements - perhaps a tease at a Slim or Pro version of the console? Here's to hoping.