The women's T20 world cup is underway, and fans of tense, hard-hitting cricket would be well advised to take an interest. Hosts Australia are clear favourites to add a fifth trophy to their bulging cabinet - despite surprisingly losing the opening game - but England, India, South Africa and the West Indies all have a fighting chance, and there should be some fantastic matches.

In this article we explain how to watch the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 live, as well as pointing out places where you can see free highlights afterwards and follow it on radio.

The next matches are:

  • 28 February (4am): South Africa vs Thailand (Canberra) - live on Sky Sports Cricket from 3.30am
  • 28 February (8am): England vs Pakistan (Canberra) - live on Sky Sports Cricket & Main Event from 7.30am

How many games are there?

There are 23 altogether.

The 10 teams, which are split into two groups of five, play each of their group mates once, for a total of 20 group games. Then the top two in each group go forward to the semi finals, before the final on 8 March.

There won't be a third-place play-off.

Which channel will broadcast the Women's T20 World Cup 2020?

Sky Sports has the live coverage rights in the UK. Games will be shown on Sky Sports Cricket and, in some cases at least, Sky Sports Main Event.

Is the T20 World Cup on free to air?

Not in the UK. Some of the tournament will be shown on Channel 9 in Australia, but fans everywhere else will have to sign up for a subscription TV service of some sort: Sky in the UK, Willow in the US, Star Sports in India.

How to watch the Women's T20 World Cup 2020 in the UK

The most obvious method is to subscribe to Sky.

Existing Sky customers can add all eight Sky Sports channels (in HD) to their package for £23 per month. If you're a Sky newcomer a basic package starts at £22 per month. Sky Sports Cricket then costs an extra £18 on top of that, or you can get the lot for £23.

Click here to look into Sky Sports packages.

A recent offer potentially worth considering bundles Sky Sports and BT Sports together. Check Sky's website for details.

How to watch with Now TV

If you don't want to commit yourself to a Sky contract, Now TV may be a more appealing option. Now TV lets you pay for just one day, week or month of Sky Sports.

A Now TV day pass costs £9.98; a week pass is £14.98; and the month pass will normally set you back £33.99 and roll on to the next month unless cancelled, but is currently available for £19.99 if you commit for six months.

Click here to view Now TV's Sky Sports Pass packages.

How to use a VPN

If you're overseas during the World Cup, consider a VPN. This allows you to 'browse from the UK' and access your usual Sky Sports or Now TV subscriptions.

NordVPN is our top recommendation, but our best VPN chart rounds up several excellent alternatives that may be a better fit for you in terms of features and pricing.

How to watch free highlights

None of the UK terrestrial channels will be showing highlights of the tournament, but there are other places you can watch highlights without paying.

You'll find all sorts of highlights clips on the video section of the ICC website, including full-match highlights and individual wickets, bowling spells and so on.

Twitter can be a good place to find short highlights, too. Feeds worth following for this include Sky Sports Cricket and the feed for your chosen team: England, India, Australia, South Africa and so on.

How to listen to the Cricket World Cup on radio

The games are being broadcast live in the UK on Radio 5 Live Sports Extra.

Women's T20 World Cup 2020 schedule

(England games highlighted with capitals. All times in local UK time, ie GMT.)

  • 21 February: India vs Australia (India won by 17 runs - highlights)
  • 22 February (7am): Thailand vs West Indies (West Indies won by 7 wickets - highlights)
  • 22 February (11am): New Zealand vs Sri Lanka (New Zealand won by 7 wickets - highlights)
  • 23 February (11am): ENGLAND vs South Africa (South Africa won by 6 wickets - highlights)
  • 24 February (6am): Australia vs Sri Lanka (Australia won by 5 wickets - highlights)
  • 24 February (11am): Bangladesh vs India (India won by 18 runs - highlights)
  • 26 February (4am): ENGLAND vs Thailand (England won by 98 runs - highlights)
  • 26 February (8am): Pakistan vs West Indies (Pakistan won by 8 wickets - highlights)
  • 27 February (4am): India vs New Zealand (India won by 3 runs - highlights)
  • 27 February (8am): Australia vs Bangladesh (Australia won by 86 runs - highlights)
  • 28 February (4am): South Africa vs Thailand
  • 28 February (8am): ENGLAND vs Pakistan
  • 29 February (12am): Bangladesh vs New Zealand
  • 29 February (8am): India vs Sri Lanka
  • 1 March (4am): Pakistan vs South Africa
  • 1 March (8am): ENGLAND vs West Indies
  • 2 March (12am): Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
  • 2 March (4am): Australia vs New Zealand
  • 3 March (4am): Pakistan vs Thailand
  • 3 March (8am): South Africa vs West Indies
  • 5 March (4am): Semi-final 1
  • 5 March (8am): Semi-final 2
  • 8 March (7am): Final