We may be a year late, but the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games are here. After a 12-month delay due to the pandemic, the famous sporting event is taking place in Japan – though due to the cost in rebranding it is still called the ‘2020 Olympics’.

There's still plenty of events to look forward to, with eyes turning to the men's and women's 100m sprint, with heats, semi-finals, and finals still yet to come - in our first Olympics without Usain Bolt in the competition for some time.

If you want to tune in, then we have you covered for both broadcast TV and streaming - with options for both the UK and US. Keep on reading for more information. You can also check out our guide to watching the NFL.

When are the Olympics 100m finals?

There are numerous different events for the 100m sprint this weekend, with the women's semi-finals and finals yet to come, while all of the men's races are still on the way.

First up, here are the times to know for the women's races:

  • Women's 100m semi-final - 31 July - 11:15am BST / 6:15am ET / 3:15am PT / 7:15pm JST
  • Women's 100m final - 31 July - 1:50pm BST / 8:50am ET / 5:15am PT / 9:50pm JST

Then here are the key times for the men's:

  • Men's 100m preliminary round - 31 July - 3:35am BST / 10:35pm ET (30 July) / 7:35pm PT (30 July) / 11:35am JST
  • Men's 100m round 1 - 31 July - 11:45am BST / 6:45am ET / 3:45am PT / 7:45pm JST
  • Men's 100m semi-final - 1 August - 11:15am BST / 6:15am ET / 3:15am PT / 7:15pm JST
  • Men's 100m final - 1 August - 1:50pm BST / 8:50am ET / 5:15am PT / 9:50pm JST

How to watch the Olympics in the UK

Broadcast TV

The channels with the rights to the Olympics in the UK this year are the BBC and Eurosport. You’ll be able to watch most sporting events through both of these channels - with the BBC splitting coverage between BBC One and the Red Button channel. 

The 100m sprint races will all air on BBC One, with coverage taking place all day. 

BBC channels are available on both Freeview and TV packages such as Virgin and Sky, and you’ll also need a valid UK TV licence. Eurosport however is only accessible as a premium channel, not through standard Freeview TV. 

Eurosport has seven Olympic specific Eurosport pop-up channels in HD (available at no extra cost for subscribers), and Sky Q and Virgin customers can get the games in 4K via the Eurosport 4K channel, which can be accessed via the red button on the remote. You can read more about this in our guide to watching the Olympics in 4K.

Online

If you don’t have access to a TV, then you can still stream the Olympics either on BBC iPlayer or Eurosport/Discovery+

BBC iPlayer is free to sign up, but you do need a valid UK TV licence to watch. If you’re travelling whilst the Olympics are on, you can still log in to iPlayer with a VPN. VPNs (virtual private networks) reroute your IP address, which means you can browse the internet as if you're in another country. For the best speeds and performance, we recommend NordVPN

You can find out more details in our guide to watching iPlayer from abroad.

How to watch iPlayer abroad

The dedicated streaming service for Eurosport is also being rolled into Discovery+. Plans start from £4.99 per month, and you also get access to other entertainment shows such as 90 Day Fiancé, Aussie Gold Hunters and Gold Rush. 

If you're a Vodafone mobile customer, then you can actually claim six months worth of Discovery+ completely for free, so you can stream the Olympic games at no extra cost. You can get the Vodafone Discovery+ offer here

You can also add Eurosport as an extra channel on Amazon Prime, which costs an extra £6.99 on top of your existing Prime Video subscription. You can sign up for Amazon Prime here

Discovery+ has a dedicated livestream for athletics, as well as a Team GB channel which shows the sports that our country is competing in.  

How to watch the Olympics team and all-round finals in the US

Broadcast TV

The broadcaster which holds the rights to the Olympics in the US is NBCUniversal. This means that the games will air on NBC (available on cable TV packages) and other NBCUniversal channels like NBCSN.

Coverage of the 100m finals will be available on the NBC Olympics channel

If you don’t have a TV, then never fear. You can still stream the Olympics online.

Online

NBCUniversal also owns the streaming platform Peacock. Subscribers will be able to tune into 'new daily live shows, original programming, Olympics channels, full event replays and curated highlights of NBC Olympics’ coverage' according to NBC. 

Most programming will be available on the free tier of Peacock, with the exception of USA Men’s Basketball live coverage - which will be exclusive to Premium subscribers. 

Peacock will air the livestreams of all the gymnastics finals, so you can catch Simone Biles live in action. 

There are three tiers to Peacock - free, Premium and Premium Plus. The free tier offers a limited content library, whilst the two other Premium tiers have a larger selection, with the Plus tier giving the content with no ads.

The Premium tier costs $5.99 per month, whilst Premium Plus costs $9.99 per month.

Peacock

Another cheap way is to sign up to Sling TV. This subscription usually costs $35 per month, but new customers can get the first month for just $10 - plenty enough time to stream all of the games. Sign up for Sling TV here.

Fubo TV is another streaming option - you can get a seven-day free trial, which then goes up to $64.99 per month. However, if you're only watching the games for a select number of things, you could always take advantage of the free trial and cancel before you pay. Sign up for Fubo TV here.  

You can also sign up for YouTube TV, which features four dedicated channels for 4K Olympic channels: NBC 4K, NBC Sports 4K, Olympic Channel 4K, and Golf Channel 4K.

YouTube TV costs $64.99 per month, though there is currently an offer on which knocks $10 off the usual price. 

Like Peacock, you can cancel this subscription at any time. YouTube TV has also confirmed that it will offer the games in 4K, though this does cost extra.

Tokyo 2020 Olympic games schedule

The games kicked off on Friday 23 July 2021, and will conclude on Sunday 8 August 2021, running for just over two weeks. We'll be keeping tabs on some of the most popular events such as gymnastics and athletics. 

However, if you'd like to know when everything is, you can take a look at the full schedule below. If you'd like to specifically when the medal events are, you can see this over on the official Olympics website

3x3 Basketball 24 to 28 July
Archery 23 to 31 July
Artistic Gymnastics 24 July to 3 August
Artistic Swimming 2 to 7 August
Athletics 30 July to 8 August
Badminton 24 July to 2 August
Baseball/Softball 21 July to 7 August
Basketball 25 July to 8 August
Beach Volleyball 24 July to 7 August
Boxing 24 July to 8 August
Canoe Slalom 25 to 30 July
Canoe Sprint 2 to 7 August
Cycling BMX Freestyle 31 July to 1 August
Cycling BMX Racing 29 to 30 July
Cycling Mountain Bike 26 to 27 July
Cycling Road 24 to 28 July
Cycling Track 2 to 8 August
Diving 25 July to 7 August
Equestrian 23 July to 7 August
Fencing 24 July to 1 August
Football 21 July to 7 August
Golf 29 July to 7 August
Handball 24 July to 8 August
Hockey 24 July to 6 August
Judo 24 to 31 July
Karate 5 to 7 August
Marathon Swimming 4 to 5 August
Modern Pentathlon 5 to 7 August
Rhythmic Gymnastics 6 to 8 August
Rowing 23 to 30 July
Rugby Sevens 26 to 31 July
Sailing 25 July to 4 August
Shooting 23 July to 2 August
Skateboarding 25 July to 5 August
Sport Climbing 3 to 6 August
Surfing 25 July to 1 August
Swimming 24 July to 1 August
Table Tennis 24 July to 6 August
Taekwondo 24 to 27 July
Tennis 24 July to 1 August
Trampoline Gymnastics 30 to 31 July
Triathlon 26 to 31 July
Volleyball 24 July to 8 August
Water Polo 24 July to 8 August
Weightlifting 24 July to 4 August
Wrestling 1 to 7 August