Ligue 1 is back, and it looks set to be more exciting than ever. The eyes of the world will be on the top-flight of French football following the arrival of Lionel Messi. The Argentine superstar left Barcelona after spending his entire career at the Catalan club, and will now link up with former teammate Neymar at PSG.

Alongside Kylian Mbappé, the Parisians arguably boast the more formidable front three in world football. 

What's more, a series of high-profile summer signings make Mauricio Pochettino’s side hot favourites to regain their crown, after Lille won their first title in a decade in 2020-21. The likes of Marseille, Lyon, Monaco and Nice also look set to provide stiff opposition.

Here’s how to watch all the key matches from the UK and US, complete with English commentary.

What Ligue 1 games are on TV this weekend?

There are plenty of exciting Ligue 1 matches to look forward to. Here are all the games being broadcast on UK and US TV:

Fri 17 September

  • Strasbourg vs FC Metz – KO 9pm CET/8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PST - BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS

Sat 18 September

  • St Etienne vs Bordeaux – KO 9pm CET/8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PST - BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS

Sun 19 September

  • Nice vs Monaco - KO 1pm CET/12pm BST/7am ET/4am PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • Angers vs Nantes - KO 3pm CET/2pm BST/9am ET/6am PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • Marseille vs Rennes – KO 5pm CET/4pm BST/11am ET/8am PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • PSG vs Lyon - KO 8.45pm CET/7.45pm BST/2.45pm ET/11.45am PST – BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS

Wed 22 September

  • Lille vs Reims - KO 9pm CET/8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PST - BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • Monaco vs St Etienne - KO 7pm CET/6pm BST/1pm ET/10am PST - BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • Angers vs Marseille - KO 9pm CET/8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PST - BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS
  • FC Metz vs PSG - KO 9pm CET/8pm BST/3pm ET/12pm PST - BT Sport/BeIN SPORTS

How to watch Ligue 1 in the UK

BT Sport is the exclusive broadcaster for Ligue 1 in the UK, with multiple games shown every round of matches. In total, more than 200 fixtures will be broadcast live throughout the season.

There are a few options when signing up to BT Sport, firstly by taking BT Broadband. Put your postcode into the website to see what deals are available.

On the TV side, prices start at £7.50 per month for six months and you'll get all four BT Sport channels and BoxNation.

You can also just use the BT Sport app - works on mobile, tablet, smart TV and console - and buy the Monthly Pass for £25pm. Depending on your device, you'll still be able to watch in up to 4K HDR quality.

Sky customers can get BT Sport added from £29.99pm. BT also offers a combined package with Sky Sports via Now, which is £20pm for six months on a half-price deal. The VIP package adds even more, including Sky Cinema, for £65pm.

View all of the BT Sport packages here.

How to watch Ligue 1 in the US

In the US, BeIN Sports is the main broadcaster of Ligue 1. However, there are plenty of options when it comes to signing up.

The cheapest method is via Sling TV, one of the most popular streaming services in the US. You’ll first need to sign up to Sling Orange or Sling Blue plan – both cost $35 per month, or $50 if you want both. You’ll then need to pay an extra $10 for the World Sports add-on – this also gets you access to Premiere, beIN Sports Connect, Willow HD, Willow Xtra, and Nautical Channel.

After a free trial period (which varies between three and seven days), it means you’ll pay at least $45 per month to access BeIN Sports.

FuboTV is another option. The FuboTV Starter package includes BeIN Sports, alongside more than 100 other channels. It'll cost you $64.99 per month, although you can cancel any time. There’s also a free trial here for new customers, lasting seven days.

As you can see, watching Ligue 1 from the US doesn’t come cheap.

How to watch Ligue 1 with a VPN

If you have a subscription from the UK or US but are currently based abroad, it makes sense to use your existing plan. Both BT Sport and BeIN SPORTS are geo-restricted, meaning you can only officially use them in the countries where you pay.

However, a VPN (virtual private network) offers an easy workaround. Unblocking content is one of its most popular uses, with various servers that allow you to ‘appear’ in another country with a new IP address.

All the best VPNs have multiple servers in the UK and US, with dedicated streaming servers in some cases. Our top pick is NordVPN, which offers a great combination of ease of use, security features and value for money.

Once connected, you should be able to use the site or app as normal.

Related articles for further reading